Disorganization Station – Ritalin Donations Welcome


Island of Misfit [boy]Toys

Posted in Uncategorized by Hams on 2007/10/09

Back to the ol’ drawing board.  The proverbial drawing board of dating, that is.

Yikes.

Never thought I’d be here after supposedly meeting the ‘love of my life’.  Nine months to the day, Steve and I decided to part ways.  It was truly the easiest break up ever experienced.  Cried for a day, intermittently throughout the week, and now I’m pretty much ok.

The reason was this:  it wasn’t meant to be.  We are simply too different to ever live in the same house.  (Glad we figured this out BEFORE we bought one.)  Not only that, but this unavoidable, crushing, smothering feeling of entrapment was starting to weigh heavily on my heart.  Also, having a massive ninth-grade crush on a man who wasn’t my boyfriend was certainly a road flare illuminating the way to Splitsville. 

So this other guy is freaking adorable!  Blue eyes, great smile, Christian….*sigh* (I swear I act like a 14 year-old every time I see him.  Can’t speak properly, blush uncontrollably, kicked over a can of soda when I sat next to him…It’s just sad, but another blog.)

The anticipation of re-entering the dating scene brings memories flooding back about my past experiences with boys, lovingly referred to as residents of the Island of Misfit Toys.  (From the awesome claymation Rudolph cartoon CBS shows ever year)

The island is inhabited by men with flaring tempers, infidelity/commitment issues, unidentified tattoos resembling crop circles found after a night of drinking, and men who are way too old for their mother to: buy their clothes, be their roommate, and buy their groceries.  Natives to this island also exhibit gotees so ample as to compete with Scott Ian of Anthrax, think that Target is owned by the French because it is oft referred to as Tar-zhay, suffer from narcolepsy, and pine for an ex-lover who worked as a Pizza Hut delivery driver.

This pretty much sums up 12 years of dating.  Do I ever have bad taste!

From now on, the decisions will certainly not be made alone; I’ll consult with a better Advisor.

One Response to 'Island of Misfit [boy]Toys'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Island of Misfit [boy]Toys'.

  1. jennyd1453 said,

    I WILL HAPPILY SERVE AS YOUR ADVISOR. NOT THAT MY ADVENTURES ARE ANY BETTER. BUT AT LEAST YOU COULD BLAME SOMEONE ELSE FOR YOUR MISADVENTURES. LIKE I DO. FOR EXAMPLE, THIS FRIEND OF MINE INTRODUCED ME TO THIS GUY. I BLAME HER.


Leave a Reply

