Disorganization Station – Ritalin Donations Welcome


Dude, where’s my life?

Posted in Uncategorized by Hams on 2007/10/14

This year through chaos at work, open heart surgery, and an opressive nine-month long relationship, I had an epiphany.  The definition and meaning to my life has become circumstantial.  I am what I am enduring at that time, rather than being someone who is enduring circumstances.

The wise King Solomon couldn’t have said it better in Ecclesiastes (vs 3:12-13).”There is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil – this is the gift of God.”

This has been a heck of a year which without family and friends, I never would have survived.  Most importantly, I absolutely could not fathom what it would have been like without the comfort of God.

Ten years ago the thought of being wheeled to the OR to have a date with a sternal saw would have been terrifying.  Six months ago, it was concerning, yet I felt joyful and comforted.

Ten years ago, my desire to succeed overshadowed my relationships with family and friends.  I have one regret in life – that I never went to my brother’s basic training graduation.  While this relentless desire for perfection in my career still runs rampant, I am slowly learning balance by working a mere 40 hours a week.

Ten years ago, I had a relationship where I was willing to completely overhaul my life to please another.  Ten years later, this was still the case.  God is working on this – it’s tough.

My life is not my job, my health, or my relationships.  Since it is none of these, I’ll be spending some time finding out what my life is.

Sorta like Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride…if he drove a Toyota Camry.

Leave a Reply

