Disorganization Station – Ritalin Donations Welcome


Salamanders and sternotomies

Posted in Uncategorized by Hams on 2007/10/18

My six month follow up was today.  My heart is doing so much better!  I’ve regained 15% of my ejection fraction back (meaning my heart is pumping blood out more efficiently) and my left ventricle has decreased (i.e. my heart is returning to normal size).

One of my surgeons, Dr. DeGuzman, kept saying “Wow, you look so good…what have you done?”  I said, “Well, working out 45 mins 4 days a week and getting rid of a bad relationship never hurts.”  I got a chuckle.

He looked at my incision and said he could do a revision.  I politely declined another surgical procedure.  He says “Oh, it’ll be easy!”

Yeah….I suppose anything would be easier than my valve repair though.  If only my remaining incision didn’t look like I was smuggling a salamander on my chest….

Nonetheless, I have finally received the validation I was needing from this whole ordeal.  Life’s good!

Leave a Reply

